January 26th, 2015 – Viola Ross-Smith, British Trust for Ornithology

Viola Ross-SmithI’m a post-doctoral ecologist with a passion for seabirds. I studied Zoology at Cambridge before completing my PhD on gulls at Cardiff, during which I spent several months each year on the small Welsh island of Flat Holm and fell in love with island life. Since this time, I’ve become a bit of an island bagger and been lucky enough to work on several remote and spectacular British islands.

I joined the British Trust for Ornithology (BTO) in late 2010, as a research ecologist in the Wetland and Marine Team. My most exciting work has involved tracking seabirds, primarily Lesser Black-backed Gulls, and looking at how they interact with wind farms. My colleagues and I have deployed state-of-the-art GPS tags to unpick the fine details of where and when these birds travel and how they use their environment. You can see a summary of some of this work in this feature I recorded for the BBC.

I also love communicating science and now work almost half-time as science communications officer at BTO. I regularly do radio and TV interviews and write up features for our website and popular publications. I am a licensed bird ringer and this sometimes comes in handy when combining my two roles as you can see from this piece featuring the now famous Tesco Pied Wagtail! Most of my communications time is spent managing our social media accounts (including @_BTO) where I focus on finding great bird and wildlife-related science stories, but I also get a lot out of engaging with our really active Twitter community of 35,000+ followers. I am also a committee member of, and manage social media for, the Seabird group (@TheSeabirdGroup), a registered charity founded in 1966 to promote and help coordinate the study and conservation of seabirds. When I’m not working or tweeting, I might well be found listening to BBC 6 Music with my nose buried in a novel. You can find me @viola_rs.

Leave a Reply

