January 19th 2015 – Richard Tomsett, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology

Richard TomsettI am a postdoctoral fellow in the Computational Neuroscience Group at the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, which means I live on a sub-tropical island and work in a building that looks like a James Bond villain’s secret laboratory. My current research is about how brain cells (neurons) communicate with each other; specifically, how their electrical activity represents information about the environment. I work entirely on computer models of the brain, which we use to explore hypotheses about neuronal communication. I did my PhD in neuroscience at Newcastle University, where I focused on the physics of electrode recordings from brain tissue, and how these recordings relate to the neurons’ activity. Prior to that did a Master’s degree in AI at the University of Edinburgh and a Bachelor’s degree in Physics and Computer Science at Durham University – I am admittedly a biologist wannabe rather than a biologist by training.

You can find out more about my research on my web-sites at www.autap.se and www.vertexsimulator.org, and follow me on Twitter @richardtomsett

Leave a Reply

