December 15th, 2014 – Victoria Metcalf, Lincoln University

Victoria MetcalfI’m a marine biologist/geneticist living in New Zealand and mad keen on studying fish and shellfish. I have a particular love of cold places and most of my research is on Antarctic marine life. I’ve been fortunate enough to travel to the Antarctic seven times. I’m passionate about doing meaningful research that will help our planet. I am researching the effects of increases in temperature, ocean acidification and pollution because the effects of climate change are something we should all worry about. I’m also fascinated by epigenetics and the role of the microbiome.

I work part-time, mum full-time and am also incredibly interested in the science of parenting. This is why I have my own blog Parenting by Instinct (http://parentingbyinstinct.wordpress.com/) to help parents take on board good quality science which they can use to empower themselves in their own parenting decisions.

I’m a very committed science communicator in the form of community and school/teacher presentations, social media, blogging, media articles and involvement in science festivals. I really want to excite the public about science, especially from a young age.

You can find me on Twitter at @VicMetcalf_NZ and my science blog at http://sciblogs.co.nz/icedoctor/

Leave a Reply

