December 8th 2014 – Lauren Sakowski, Nemours Biomedical Reasearch

Lauren SakowskiI am a research assistant with Nemours Biomedical Research at the A.I. duPont Hospital for Children. Our lab studies the molecular mechanisms of pathogenesis in Pelizaeus-Merzbacher Disease, which is a disorder of the myelin sheath. My project focuses on genomic duplications in the PLP1 region of the X-chromosome, characterizing inflammatory neurodegeneration in a mouse model, and developing treatment regimens. I am interested in neurodegenerative disease in general, and hope to stay in this field in a postdoctoral position. Outside of the lab, my passion is science communication. I have written guest blog posts for PLoS Neuro, HeadStuff.org, and Bitesize Bio and I maintain a blog of my own (http://neurocultureblog.wordpress.com).  I focus on issues such as mental health and thriving in grad school.

Leave a Reply

