August 3rd 2014 – John Mulley, Bangor University

John MulleyI’m currently a lecturer in the School of Biological Sciences at Bangor University in North Wales, and live in the lovely little village of Llanfairpwllgwyngyll- gogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch (or, as we call it, LlanfairPG). Prior to taking up my post in 2010 I did doctoral and postdoctoral research in the Department of Zoology at Oxford, a Master’s degree at Imperial College and the Natural History Museum and a Bachelor’s degree at the University of Liverpool. My research has mainly focussed on the role of gene and genome duplication in vertebrate evolution, using a variety of genetic and genomic data for both model and non-model organisms, with a particular emphasis on ray-finned and cartilaginous fish. Most recently I’ve been investigating the distribution and function of Pdx2, an enigmatic gene which has been independently lost in several vertebrate major lineages and in the past few years I’ve turned my attention to reptiles, where gene duplication has been thought to have a role in the origin and evolution of venom. Whilst most of my more recent work has been focussed on analyses of gene expression (transcriptomic) data, I’ve also generated a few low coverage whole genome sequences.

You can find out more about my research on my webpage (www.johnmulley.com) and can follow me on Twitter @JohnMulley.

Leave a Reply

